2010 Coolmore Classic Preview

February 26th, 2010

One of the Sydney Autumn Carnival’s best races for fillies and mares, the distinguished Group 1 Coolmore Classic (1500m) is set to run at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse on Saturday March 20, 2010 as the headline act on Coolmore Stud Classic Day.

A brilliant line up of races will light up the esteemed track on the day including the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes and the Group 2 Reisling Slipper Trial, but the majority of the crowd will be there to see the elite females running for their life in the 2010 Coolmore Classic.

This year the Coolmore Classic is worth $600, 000 with the winner taking home $390, 000 for their connections and also earning a ballot exemption for the $1.5million Group 1 Doncaster Handicap held on April 17.

One of the best lead-up races to the Coolmore Classic is the Group 3 Millie Fox Stakes and keeping an eye on the fillies and mares that do well in this event can be a good indication for the Coolmore Classic.

Last year’s Coolmore Classic winner, the brilliant Typhoon Tracy, may return this year seeking back-to-back success in the event

Last year’s Coolmore Classic winner, the brilliant Typhoon Tracy may return this year seeking back-to-back success in the event.

Trainer Peter Moody has been more than impressed with the Red Ransom mare this season as she took out the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes at Caulfield on February 6 in her first run since winning the Myer Classic back in October.

A winner of eight of her 11 career starts the imposing four-year-old looks poised to add another Group 1 win to her name if nominated.

On their way to a run in the Doncaster Handicap is the impressive More Than Ready filly More Joyous.

Prepared by premier Sydney trainer Gai Waterhouse, More Joyous is in sensational form having won the Group 2 Light Fingers Stakes at Randwick on February 13. She will next run in the Group 2 Surround Stakes on March 6 before contesting the Coolmore Classic.

Nominations for the 2010 Coolmore Classic close at 11:00am on Monday March 15 with the final field of acceptances declared on Wednesday March 17 and published here.